鼎石2021届国际文凭考试成绩超出预期


鼎石2021届毕业生在国际文凭(IBDP)考试中发挥出色,取得了超出预期的好成绩。

鼎石2021届共有76名毕业生,其中73人攻读了完整的国际文凭项目。面对疫情,2021届毕业生迎难而上,顺利渡过了困难重重的2019-2020学年,在绝大多数科目中都取得了骄人的成绩。

国际文凭考试满分为45分,鼎石本届毕业生平均分为37.6,创下了建校以来的最好成绩,比全球平均分33.02高出4.58分,也较鼎石2020年的成绩(33.48)提高了4.12分。攻读了完整国际文凭项目的73名学生中,96%的学生成绩达30分以上,74%达35分以上;令人瞩目的是,42.5%的学生成绩达到了40分以上,还有1名学生考取了45分的满分。

本届毕业生的国际文凭考试通过率为98.6%,高于全球平均的88.96%,也在鼎石上一届92%的基础上有所提高。另外,还有96%的毕业生取得了IB双语文凭。IB双语文凭享有盛誉,口碑上佳,在大学中认可度颇高。获颁这一文凭,证明了鼎石学子们能够运用多种语言在不同文化中游刃有余,妥善应对国内外全球化浪潮和错综复杂的环境带来的各种挑战。

鼎石高中部校长戴曼莉分享道:“我们一如既往地为毕业生们感到骄傲,也相信同学们已经为未来的挑战做好了准备。我坚信,学生们的成功,源于鼎石对学习的重视以及五项共同价值观的塑造。我们并没有把考取高分作为最终的目标,而之所以能取得好成绩,是因为学生和教师共同专注于真正重要的事情上。”

高中副校长兼IBDP课程协调员Nick Daniel老师表示此次的成绩正是“鼎石社区面对困境所展现出的灵活应变的创造力与坚忍不拔的精神的最佳例证”:“疫情期间,尤其是2019-20学年,许多教学活动不得不采用部分线上教学,或完全线上教学、或是线上线下混合教学。。在这种情况下,学生们还能取得如此骄人的成绩,殊为不易。”

国际文凭考试之前,鼎石2021届毕业生们在各类活动中分享并展示了自己的学习成果,与整个社区共庆自己过去几年间的成长、收获,与成功。4月初,2021届33名艺术学生在本年度的DP艺术联展上以音乐、表演和视觉艺术作品呈现了各自己的艺术创造力,为两年来在鼎石的视觉和表演艺术课程画上了圆满的句号。4月27日,毕业生们举行了自己的“品德与社区归属感”主题展示,用自己的分享表达了对鼎石第二大基石的理解与实践。本次展示也是学生获得鼎石毕业文凭的最终要求。取得该文凭的学生除了需要展现学术能力,还需要在我校的三座教育基石方面皆表现出色。

2021届毕业生们战胜了重重困难,经历了严苛的大学招生过程,收获颇丰。76名学生共收到了来自全球140多所著名高校的录取通知书,其中包括美国的几所藤校以及英国、澳大利亚和加拿大的知名大学,还有几名学生获得了全额奖学金。

在5月22日的毕业典礼上,鼎石校长闵茂康表达了他对本届毕业生的赞许之情,称赞了同学们“迄今为止”为鼎石做出的贡献。

闵茂康校长讲道:“我之所以说‘迄今为止’,是因为‘迄今为止’是一段相对较短的时间,是你们在我们的 学校里度过的这几年……你们还有很多年的时间,为鼎石这样一所培养了你们的优秀学校继续做出贡献。”他还希望2021届毕业生“无论选择什么职业,都能成为老师,教授别人关于生活的知识,以及如何以最理想的方式生活。”

高中部副校长
兼IBDP课程协调员
Nick Daniel
Nick Daniel 拥有20年在秘鲁、阿根廷、泰国和中国的IB学校工作的经验。

 

IB大学预科项目规定2016版
WASC 报告

Keystone Class of 2021 IB Diploma Exam Results Surpass Expectations

Keystone Academy celebrates yet another milestone as its Class of 2021 exceeds expectations in the recent International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (IBDP) examination season.

From among Keystone’s fourth graduating cohort of 76 students, 73 took the full IB Diploma and achieved a remarkable set of grades across nearly all subjects despite learning under trying conditions, especially during the 2019-2020 academic year.

The class obtained an average score of 37.6 out of the possible full total of 45 points, making them the most successful IB Diploma cohort since the founding of Keystone. This score was clearly higher than this year’s global average of 33.02 and also Keystone’s May 2020 results of 33.48. Of those who took the full Diploma, 96% achieved 30 or more points, 74% gained 35 or more points, and a remarkable top group of 42.5% were awarded 40 or more points, including one who attained the full 45 points.

The Class of 2021 also gained a pass rate of 98.6%, compared to  88.96% worldwide and Keystone’s previous rate of 92%. In addition, 96% of the cohort were awarded the prestigious IB Bilingual Diploma, an accolade highly valued by universities. It is a validation that Keystone students are linguistically and culturally prepared for the challenges they will face in global, interconnected environments, both in China and around the world.

“As in the past, we are proud of our graduates and feel certain that they have the preparation they need for the challenges ahead,” Head of High School Dr. Diana Martelly expresses. “I believe that our school’s focus on learning and our five shared values is responsible for much of the success of our students. The aim is not high results; the best results are a consequence of students and teachers focusing on what really matters.”

Assistant Head of High School and IBDP Coordinator Nick Daniel says the results are “a testament to the creativity and resilience of our community,” especially these are “achieved under sometimes difficult conditions, in particular during the 2019-20 academic year, when much teaching and learning took place remotely, either fully online or within hybrid classrooms.”

Before the IBDP examinations, the Keystone Class of 2021 engaged in several activities to celebrate their growth, resilience, and success over the past several years. In early April, 33 students in the DP Music, Theater Arts, and Visual Arts courses presented a spectacular display of talent during the “Life Outside the Box” arts show, the culmination of their two-year foray into Keystone’s visual and performing arts courses. During the Character and Community Exhibition later in the month, the entire class presented “artifacts” that best embody the second keystone of character and community throughout their years at Keystone. Their presentations were the final requirement for their Keystone Diploma, an award that requires proficiency, in addition to academic achievements, in all of the Academy’s three keystones.

Amid interruptions in the current school year, the Class of 2021 underwent a rigorous college and university admissions process. They have received offers from over 140 leading colleges and universities worldwide, including several Ivy League institutions in the United States and prestigious universities in the United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. In addition, several members of this year’s cohort gained full scholarships.

During the class graduation on May 22, Head of School Malcolm McKenzie shared his appreciation to Keystone’s newest graduates for their contributions to the school “so far”.

“I say ‘so far’ deliberately, because ‘so far’ has been a relatively short period of time, the few years that you have been in our school … [and] you have many more years of contributions to make to Keystone, the wonderful school that has nurtured you,” Mr. McKenzie expressed. He also encouraged the members of the Class of 2021 to “be a teacher, teaching others about life and how best to live it, whatever career you choose.”

ASSISTANT HEAD OF HIGH SCHOOL & IBDP COORDINATOR

Nick Daniel

Nick Daniel has worked in IB schools across the world for two decades, including postings in Peru, Argentina, Thailand and China.

IB GENERAL REGULATIONS 2016

WASC REPORT